Welcome! Log in or Register

New Found Power - Damageplan

  • image
£12.99 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
2 Reviews

Genre: Indie Rock & Punk - Grunge / Artist: Damageplan / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2004-02-09 at Elektra

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    2 Reviews
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.10.2009 19:54
      Very helpful



      An unremarkable but enjoyable groove metal album

      Released in 2004, ''New Found Power' is the only full length put out before US Groove metal band Damageplan managed to put out before ex Pantera guitarist Dimebag Darrell was shot to death onstage by a deranged fan the same year.

      The album also has ex-Pantera drummer Vinnie Paul on percussion duties, and unsuprisingly the album is full of fat, chuggy grooves and melodic solos with a strong Pantera feel to them, though these are mixed in with stoner rock/metal riffs in the vein of the likes of Monster Magnet, Orange Goblin and Down. Likewise, Patrick Lachman's vocals swing from clean singing complete with bombastic choruses to gruff screams almost identical to those of Pantera's Phil Anselmo, though they also recall the rhytmical, monotone barks of Messuggah's vocalist on occasion.

      The songs on New Found Power are generally pretty derivative groove metal and also have a habit of straying into rather dubious, downtuned nu-metal territory on occasion, but the band somehow manage to get away with this, with the wealth of immensely enjoyable deep-fried southern riffs making up for the lack of depth or originality on offer. Whilst perhaps not the swansong Dimebag deserved, New Found Power remains an enjoyable and lighthearted slab of southern drinking metal all the same.

      1. Wake Up 04:29
      2. Breathing New Life 03:48
      3. New Found Power 03:25
      4. Pride 04:17
      5. F*ck You 03:08
      6. Reborn 04:02
      7. Explode 03:13
      8. Save Me 03:34
      9. Cold Blooded 04:57
      10. Crawl 05:29
      11. Blink Of An Eye 04:18
      12. Blunt Force Trauma 04:56
      13. Moment Of Truth 06:50
      14. Soul Bleed 05:13

      Total playing time 01:01:39


      Login or register to add comments
    • More +
      27.10.2008 18:26
      Very helpful
      1 Comment



      If you like metal, give it a try.

      Born from the ashes of Pantera, Dimebag Darrell and Vinne Paul Abbot return with the pounding album "New Found Power"
      Vocal duties are undertaken by ex-Halford guitarist Pat Latchman, and bass is played by Bob Zilla. This is the first and only release from the band prior to the death of Dimebag Darrel on december the 8th 2004

      The track listing is as follows.

      1. Wake Up
      2. Breathing New Life
      3. New Found Power
      4. Pride
      5. Fuck You
      6. Reborn
      7. Explode
      8. Save Me
      9. Cold Blooded
      10. Crawl
      11. Blink Of An Eye
      12. Blunt Force Trauma
      13. Moment Of Truth
      14. Soul Bleed

      For Pantera fans looking for more of the same, this is not what you are going to get.

      If you're looking for Dime and Vinnie taking a new approach to metal, making more use of samplers and digital sounds, then you're more on track.

      This album features guest vocals from Corey Taylor, and guitar work from Zakk Wylde, there is a whole lot of talent on this CD that isn't to be passed up.

      The tracks range from Thrash, to mellow ballads, all and right through to intense blast beats. This is a band that shows variety, and skill.

      Although not featuring as many blistering solos as the Abbot's previous work, this is still a very good album focused on different things.

      Not to be missed.


      Login or register to add comments
    • Product Details

      Disc #1 Tracklisting
      1 Wake Up
      2 Breathing New Life
      3 New Found Power
      4 Pride
      5 Fuck You
      6 Reborn
      7 Explode
      8 Save Me
      9 Cold Blooded
      10 Crawl
      11 Blink Of An Eye
      12 Blunt Force Trauma
      13 Moment Of Truth
      14 Soul Bleed

    Products you might be interested in