Welcome! Log in or Register

Last Fair Deal Gone Down - Katatonia

  • image
£22.91 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Hard Rock & Metal - Death Metal / Artist: Katatonia / Audio CD released 2004-05-24 at Peaceville

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      12.08.2008 12:57
      Very helpful



      Katatonia's fifth album (2001).

      Although it's still not up to the standards of the band's earlier albums, 2001's 'Last Fair Deal Gone Down' is an improvement over the bland style of its predecessor 'Tonight's Decision,' returning to a focus on strong musicianship in many songs ('Chrome' in particular) rather than merely trying to win over teenage goth girls with recycled depressive lyrics.

      The album is quite varied, despite all coming under the overarching style of depressive rock, and several songs contain comparatively upbeat sections, as is the case with 'Teargas' before it slows down. 'I Transpire' manages to be effectively slow and engulfing in a way that the previous album's tedious 'Had To (Leave),' and the band incorporates nice touches such as the violin (or perhaps synth-violin) in 'The Future of Speech.'

      Jonas Renkse's singing is much improved over the previous album, as he has now evidently found his own distinctive approach, and the keyboards are used more effectively to create and enhance the atmosphere.

      1. Dispossession
      2. Chrome
      3. We Must Bury You
      4. Teargas
      5. I Transpire
      6. Tonight's Music
      7. Clean Today
      8. The Future of Speech
      9. Passing Bird
      10. Sweet Nurse
      11. Don't Tell a Soul


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 Dispossession
    2 Chrome
    3 We Must Bury You
    4 Teargas
    5 I Transpire
    6 Tonight's Music
    7 Clean Today
    8 The Future Of Speech
    9 Passing Bird
    10 Sweet Nurse
    11 Don't Tell A Soul
    12 Sulfur
    13 March 4
    14 Help Me Disappea

Products you might be interested in