Welcome! Log in or Register

Above The Noise - McFly

  • image
£9.99 Best Offer by: 991.com See more offers
1 Review

Artist: McFly / Enhanced / Audio CD released 2010-11-15 at Island

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      16.04.2012 23:15



      Great album from Mcfly

      McFly released 'Above The Noise' in 2010 and the album serves as their fifth studio album and the follow up to 'Radio:Active' which they gave away for free in the Daily Mail. The four piece boy band claimed that they were moving into a more 'R&B' type of sound for this album and part of that statement is very true. 'Above The Noise' shows how McFly have developed their sound over the years. They first burst on the scene with 'Five Colours In Her Hair' which was deemed as an annoying yet catchy piece of pop. However this album shows that they can still release pop, but it's more mature and more credible than anything that they have done before. There are no 'Obviously' or 'Star Girls' on this album.

      Above The Noise consists of 11 songs, which makes it their shortest album yet, but it shows that they've opted for quality rather than quantity on this album.

      'End Of The World' is the opening song on the album. It is best described as an edgy piece of pop music with strong beats and a great funky sound and does indeed have a bit of an R&B tinge to it as promised by the band. This is a great start to the album. 9/10.

      'Party Girl' - When I said that there was nothing like 'Obviously' or 'Star Girl' I totally forgot this song and this is probably the only song that comes close to those kind of tracks. This served as the first single released from the album and ended up charting in a quite underwhelming position for a McFly lead single. As with the previous song, this is another funky pop party track. However, I guess it first well for lead single. I do however, think there is much better to come on this album. 7/10.

      'iF U C Kate' - This song was written by Dalles Austin and JC Chasez so they were being totally serious when they said they wanted to release a more R&B song. I believe JC Chasez had previously recorded this song for his own album too. This is all about a girl call Kate who goes missing and they guys are trying to find her. It's a totally brillant song and one of the highlights on the album, despite the rude title, the song is very clean and should have been a single, I guess they decided against it though due to the title. 10/10.

      'Shine A Light' (featuring Taio Cruz) - The second single from the album and it became their biggest hit in recent years. I think a lot of people forget and don't realise how many singles McFly have released over the past few years. This is a great R&B track, catchy as hell. 9/10.

      'I'll Be Your Man' - Things take a slower turn on this track. It's a nice song and showcases Tom Fletchers fine vocals on the track. I'm not usually keen on McFly ballads but this is really good. 8/10.

      'Nowhere Left To Run' - During the promotion of the album the perfermed this song a few TV Shows so I always expected it to be a single, however it never was. This sounds like it could be a dancy kind of track but doesn't crack it in the end. I know a lot of people really like this song but for me, it lacks something. 7/10.

      'I Need A Woman' - When I play this a lot of people think its a cover of 'My Girl' as the opening is very familliar. However, it isn't. This song is another highlight for me. It's a harmless romantic lovesong. It's really totally different to any other song on the album and you'll either love it or hate it. 10/10.

      'That's The Truth' - This was the third and final single from the album and was one of their lowest charting positions. I think the failure of this song to crack the Top 20 resulted in no more singles being released which is a shame because there are a songs on this album that could have potentially been big hits. This song is alright, it's a nice pop song. 8/10.

      'Take Me There' - Another uplifiting pop song. They are really doing well on this album by producing such quality tracks. I really wouldn't be suprised if they go for a more dancy style of album in the future as there are glimmers on this album. 8/10.

      'This Song' - Pretty much simmilar to the previous song but a lot more stripped back. It reminds me of something Boyzone would sing, with lines such as 'Got to lose control-ol-ol-ol'. Love it 9/10.

      'Foolish' - Closing track and another brilliant song. I think the last three songs have been more poppier than the rest of the album but all 11 songs are great. 10/10.

      Overall, this is a fantastic album. If you're a pop lover then you'll love this. Even if you dislike your typical boy band don't rule out this album because unlike One Direction and JLS, McFly play thieir own instruments, write their songs and produce quality pop. Get it!


      Login or register to add comments
  • Product Details

    Disc #1 Tracklisting
    1 End of the World
    2 Party Girl
    3 iF U C Kate
    4 Shine A Light (ft. Taio Cruz)
    5 I'll Be Your Man
    6 Nowhere Left to Run
    7 I need a Woman
    8 Take's the Truth
    9 Take Me There
    10 This Song
    11 Foolish

Products you might be interested in