Welcome! Log in or Register

Project X: Be Quiet - Jeanne Willis

  • image
£11.33 Best Offer by: amazon.co.uk marketplace See more offers
1 Review

Genre: Junior Books / Author: Jeanne Willis / 16 pages / Book published 2009-01-08 by OUP Oxford

  • Sort by:

    * Prices may differ from that shown

  • Write a review >
    How do you rate the product overall? Rate it out of five by clicking on one of the hearts.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages? Use up to 10 bullet points.
    Write your reviews in your own words. 250 to 500 words
    Number of words:
    Write a concise and readable conclusion. The conclusion is also the title of the review.
    Number of words:
    Write your email adress here Write your email adress

    Your dooyooMiles Miles

    1 Review
    Sort by:
    • More +
      02.04.2011 21:25
      Very helpful



      Another well loved addition to our Project X series

      Old MacDonald had a farm - with a "cock a doodle doo", a "moo" a "bark bark" , and... well you get the picture. But Old MacDonald is getting cantankerous in his old age and what he really wants is some peace and quiet. Finally Old MacDonald announces that if he has to ask for quiet one more time, he is leaving. The animals don't want him to go so the farm falls into complete silence, but a quiet farm just doesn't work. Young MacDonald offers to take over and let her father retire ( yes the new farmer is a woman), but what does Old MacDonald do in his joyous retirement - You'll have to read the book and find out.

      This is really a very funny story written by Jeanne Willis, a well known children's author. Jeanne Willis has also written "Who's In The Loo", "That's Not Funny", "The Really Rude Rhino", and a vast assortment of other children's books, so I am rather impressed that Oxford managed to secure her services for their new Project X reading series. I've only just noticed that she has written a number of books for this series, including our favourite, "Zak and Zee".

      This book is Book Band 5 Green - which corresponds to Oxford Reading Tree's stage 5. Oxford Project X books are designed in cluster with a common theme. This is the extra fiction story for the Noise cluster which includes 2 non fiction books, 2 computer illustrated stories about a group of children with the ability to shrink to only a few inches, and one extra traditionally illustrated story.

      My sons, ages 2 and 6 both enjoyed this book, as it really is a very noisy story. They enjoy shouting out all the animals sounds as loud as they can, as well as Old MacDonald's angry "Be Quiet". Our home is anything but quiet when this book comes out. My six year old also enjoys the fact that he can read this book on his own. As this book is level 5, it does include some more difficult words and my son did need help with "cockerel" the first time, but most of the words are familiar by now from the earlier books in the series. A few harder words builds skills while the majority of the text is easy enough for a child to be confident in reading this if they have read other Oxford books up to this level.

      Like the other books in this series though, it is short, only 16 pages. This book sells for between £ 2.81 and £3.90 new with used copies costing over £5. I do find this expensive for a thin paperback put together with two staples in the middle. But in spite of the price, I continue to buy these books. My youngest loves it as a storybook and my oldest loves being able to read these books by himself. I do think they are really improving his reading ability. I like the fact that they have a page of questions and activities to involve parents as well. So while I may moan about the price, I can't really say it is not worth it, and can not give this book anything but 5 stars.


      Login or register to add comments

    Products you might be interested in